is this a good price for this framw?

cammyb96
cammyb96 Posts: 107
edited July 2012 in MTB buying advice
I am new to DH and need a cheap frame as I am not loaded. I spotted this frame and wondered if it was any good for a beginner?

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=85654

edit:
I found a really nice frame going really cheap but I don't wanna have competition on buying this frame so I aint gonna post a link. I want to ask if its worth buying a bargain frame?

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    Nope.

It is a short travel XC frame and there is no shock with it.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • cammyb96
    cammyb96 Posts: 107
    I am new to DH and need a frame that is good, I saw this GT Marathon Carbon going at around £70-100, is this a good buy?
  • Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    What?
  • oodboo
    oodboo Posts: 2,171
    Do you know what DH is?
    I love horses, best of all the animals. I love horses, they're my friends.

Strava
  • YeehaaMcgee
    YeehaaMcgee Posts: 5,740
    cammyb96 wrote:
    I am new to DH and need a frame that is good, I saw this GT Marathon Carbon going at around £70-100, is this a good buy?
    Not for DH, no. Not even close.
  • cat_with_no_tail
    cat_with_no_tail Posts: 12,981
    This is an XC bike, meant for long rides with lots of climbing -
    gt-marathon-carbon-team-2009.jpg

This is a DH bike, meant for pushing / uplifting to the top of a very big hill/mountain, then riding down, only down:
    GT_Fury_Worldcup.jpg
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    For £70?! Besides the fact that it is totally unsuitable, it will be broken or stolen at that price.
  • Clank
    Clank Posts: 2,323
    I stand by my first comment to you.

Learn the basic skills of riding first, and learn the basics of mountain bikes.