home made wheel trueing stand.

One 80
One 80 Posts: 62
edited July 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
Just thought id show my attempt at making my own trueing stand. im no expert as you can see and decided to make this after watching a video on youtube on how to true a wheel the proper way.
its the first time iv ever trued a wheel or seen how its done but was pleased with the result. i got it to within 1mm of true which seems ok for a first try. tommorrow i will try and get it to 0.5 mm true i hope.

any advice or comments or tips appreciated.

thanks

7617608978_b561f47327_z_d.jpg
7617609896_359ababb32_z_d.jpg
7617610692_16525e6b85_z_d.jpg
Boardman comp 2012

Comments

• :D Thats a great idea mate. I have an old BSO full sus frame that i was going to pinch the seatstays/rear end from to make a truing stand BUT i may "borrow" (NOT rip off :roll: :lol:) your idea and make one from wood. Good job beats paying whatever the cost for a bought stand would be (i suggest a coat of matt gloss...... Then Park Tools stickers :lol:.).

Thanks.
  • Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    How do you do a front though?
  • Top fettling there! *impressed*

....but yeah, is it narrow enough to hold a front too?
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Nice, but I use an old frame ;-)
  • bails87
    bails87 Posts: 12,998
    That does look pretty neat. Here's mine, adjustable for hubs up to 150mm
    IMAG0165.jpg

It's from Roger Musson's Wheelpro book.
    MTB/CX

"As I said last time, it won't happen again."
  • angry_bird
    angry_bird Posts: 3,786
    bails87 wrote:
    It's from Roger Musson's Wheelpro book.

Good book that, decent price too.
  • cycleclinic
    cycleclinic Posts: 6,865