How am I doing?

♠ChumBucket♠
♠ChumBucket♠ Posts: 388
edited August 2012 in Road beginners
Hi

I've been cycling a little over 3 months now & enjoying it massively! :) I bought a little wireless computer thingy two weeks ago & so now have some stats! :lol:

Today I've done my longest continuous solo ride (without stopping) of 31.3 miles.

I'm riding a £400 hard tail mountain bike with front forks locked out & semi slick road tyres (Ridgeback MX6 2011) :|

Here are today's figures (I'm a newbie don't forget & 40 in two weeks time) :D

31.3 miles (all road)
Average speed 16mph
Max speed 31mph
Total time 1 hour 57 minutes

Does this seem OK? I do feel much fitter now than when I started 3 months back.

Regards
Tony
B'TWIN Triban 5A
Ridgeback MX6

Comments

• lc1981
    lc1981 Posts: 820
    Depends on whether you were going uphill, downhill or a bit of both! But generally that sounds reasonably rapid, especially given that you're not on a road bike.
  • Hi

Thanks

Yeah, kind of flat-ish, lots of "gradual" ups along with "gradual" downs & general steep, short ups & downs. :)
    B'TWIN Triban 5A
    Ridgeback MX6
  • simon_masterson
    simon_masterson Posts: 2,740
    That's really not bad at all; in fact it's very good. Keep up the good work. :)

I should warn you however that the illness is terminal; soon you will be sporting lycra, sitting astride a fancy racing bike and obsessing over each 1 MPH faster you can go. :lol:
  • That's really not bad at all; in fact it's very good. Keep up the good work. :)

I should warn you however that the illness is terminal; soon you will be sporting lycra, sitting astride a fancy racing bike and obsessing over each 1 MPH faster you can go. :lol:

I can feel it already :D I never thought I'd even get a computer (or whatever they are called?).

Will have a little break now & do my usual 17.5 mile route monday or tuesday evening.