what's strava?

Triangle Kebab
Triangle Kebab Posts: 85
edited January 2013 in Road beginners
i've been looking through various posts on the forum, and there seems to be a fair few people tracking their rides with something called strava. What is strava? how do i use it? and is it worth doing? Forgive the novice questions but im just starting out with cycling, and if strava is something that will be of use to me then im all for giving it a try.

Comments

• leshere
    leshere Posts: 38
    I have just started using Strava so no expert. It is an on line service (free if you just want the basics) that records your data and allows you and others to see it. Your cycling data needs to be collected on a device wither an I phone or one using Android for which there are apps. or form a Garmin cycling computer.
    I need something like that to help motivate me in my training and to watch over my sons efforts (which are much more worthy than mine. I will add the links later.
    Les the Cycling Daddy
  • It's a cycling app on the iPhone, its free too. I use it now and then when I'm out on the bike.

Basically records your route, time, speed, distance etc... It's pretty good and simple to use. Recently found out it records various segments of a ride which other people have saved and puts the top times into a table so that you can compare times and top speeds too which is quite good for motivation.
    Planet X XLS 2013
    Planet X London Road 2015
  • daveski12
    daveski12 Posts: 158
    I use another app to track my rides them import them into Strava so I can track my performance on the sectors as leshere said.

Here's a link to my profile so you can see the data it captures http://app.strava.com/athletes/563545
  • bobtbuilder
    bobtbuilder Posts: 1,537