New to road cycling (Heart rate ?)

AlahDamIt
AlahDamIt Posts: 44
edited July 2012 in Road beginners
Hi

Had a MB for several year's (Lapierre Zesty), not used much off road due to the amount of broken bones I've got and metal plate's (22 at last count) :roll:

I bought a road bike 6 weeks ago and count get enough which is great, doing several 7 mile runs a week and 25 mile runs at the weekend at an average of 16mph which I am pleased with after a 12 month break, also got a heart rate monitor.

My question is im 42, when im first setting off around the 1/2 mile mark im hitting a hill (Down), my heart rate is hitting 194 and this is on 2 occasions. Is this good or bad should I see this dropping with time. :roll:
Bianchi infinito 2012
Specialized Secteur

Comments

• NITR8s
    NITR8s Posts: 688
    I am fairly new to cycling too, started properly in March and was interested in what my heart rate was doing so watched it over a 45 miles ride.

My Max I noticed that my heart rate on flats was about 170 - 180, on hills it climbed to about 195 and on decents it would drop to about about 140 or lower depending on the length of the decent. My average heart rate was 176.

I hope this info helps.
  • t.m.h.n.e.t
    t.m.h.n.e.t Posts: 2,265
    AlahDamIt wrote:
    Hi

Had a MB for several year's (Lapierre Zesty), not used much off road due to the amount of broken bones I've got and metal plate's (22 at last count) :roll:

I bought a road bike 6 weeks ago and count get enough which is great, doing several 7 mile runs a week and 25 mile runs at the weekend at an average of 16mph which I am pleased with after a 12 month break, also got a heart rate monitor.

My question is im 42, when im first setting off around the 1/2 mile mark im hitting a hill (Down), my heart rate is hitting 194 and this is on 2 occasions. Is this good or bad should I see this dropping with time. :roll: