Buying used bike - what to check?

dubcat
dubcat Posts: 754
edited July 2012 in Road beginners
Hi

I am going to see a used bike tomorrow. This will be my first road bike and I have minimal bike experience in general. The first thing I wanted to be convinced of is that the bike is not stolen. I am happy it is not. Can you tell me what to check for on the bike? The more detail the better - remember I am a newbie.

It is a giant defy 1 2010. Alu frame, carbon forks, I think 105 gears. Very excited but keen not to make a mistake.

Hope someone can help
Dub
2010 Specialized Rockhopper
2012 Bianchi Infinito

Comments

• pilot_pete
    pilot_pete Posts: 2,120
    Firstly, make sure it is the correct size for you. Take a look at the geometry and sizing recommendations on the Giant website as an initial guide. It doesn't matter what condition it's in if it is the wrong size and you will always regret buying it once the rose tinted spectacles are off...

Once you have ascertained that it will fit you, start with a general look over at the whole thing. Bit like a car really, does it look like it has had a hard life, or is it still very tidy and clean? Is there any corrosion on the frame or components? Start looking closer at the frame, looking for scratches, dings, worn paint, frame welds for tiny cracks etc. get the owner to hold the bike upright and get down on the floor behind it to check that the wheels are dead in line(obviously with him holding the bars straight). If they are not both vertical and you can see the front wheel sticking out one way or t'other then the frame is probably bent from a crash. Ask him if the bike has ever been crashed (sounds stupid, but some people are overly honest and will tell you about their big 'off'!)