+3mph...how hard?

ianbar
ianbar Posts: 1,354
edited July 2012 in Road beginners
i have set myself a few targets once i have i may then treat myself t a new bike(feel i should be a much faster cyclist to earn one).one of my criteria was to hit 16mph over a certain route,havnt decided the exact route yet but similar to what i rode on saturday but a little shorter so something like 40 miles...maybe i should just make it 50 side its close.the point is, i rode it at 13mph I'm pretty sure i could have gone certain half a mile an hour faster for various reasons but really i need to add 3mph to achieve tis goal. is this a very hard and unlikely target? i am 16 st(lost a st since mid june) and i know i would lie to get down to 14 st, i am 6'3".
enigma esprit
cannondale caad8 tiagra 2012

Comments

• pinarellokid
    pinarellokid Posts: 1,208
    im only a relative road novice but i have noticed if i keep checking my gear i go faster,, sounds daft written here

but what i mean is i always go up a gear whenever i remember,, that way im going a little faster for only a little effort,,

i find i seem to sit in a lower gear when a change makes relatively little more effort.

like i say im only a novice but it works for me at the minute over distances of 15 miles.
    Specialized S Works SL2 . Campagnolo Record 11spd. rolling on Campag Zonda wheels

http://app.strava.com/athletes/881211
  • styxd
    styxd Posts: 3,234
    Assuming you were going as hard as you could on saturday, then adding 3mph is going to be very tough. Probably the easiest way to do it is pick a flat route if you're 16 stone.

16mph on a fairly flat route is easily achievable. Throw in a few hills and your weight starts to hold you back.
  • Leeuw
    Leeuw Posts: 99
    Since March, I've added 3mph avg to my rides - now climbing on big ring when I used to grunt on little ring (and biggest sprocket!). You'll get fitter, shed more weight and you'll see the speed go up.

I'm 6' 5" and now under 14st :)
  • cje