Heart Rate

nbuuifx
nbuuifx Posts: 302
edited July 2012 in Road beginners
I wore my heart rate monitor for the first time whilst out cycling, I took notice of the figures but don't really know what to do with that data to help me improve.

Any Clues?!

My Ride was 10 casual miles, 10 miles pushing it, then 10 casual miles back.

My resting HR is 49.
My Max heart rate according to the formula is 191.

During the first 10 miles it was mostly around 130 with a peak of 155 when I hit a hill.
During the second 10 miles it was mostly around 170 with a peak of 182 - interstingly the peak was on the flat
During the third 10 miles it was back around 130ish

What can I take from that to improve? Should I also be looking at how long it takes to return to rest?

Thanks

Comments

• Kingy911
    Kingy911 Posts: 134
    I have a heart rate chart, pm your e-mail and I will try and send it over to you. I started training with the HRM about a month ago and I think it has improved my cardio fitness (at least thats what I tell myself ;-) )
  • nbuuifx
    PM Sent,

Cheers
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 17,150
    there are several formulae for calculating maximum hr, there's no reason to assume any will correctly determine your maximum hr, it takes a test to do that

higher hr on the flat *may* reflect your leg strength/endurance...

on the flat, you can use a higher cadence, which is easier on the legs, you can put out more power, so you have a higher hr

on the hill, at lower cadence your legs run out of steam before they can place a high load on your heart, so your hr stays lower

...or it may simply be that you hadn't warmed up earlier, or etc. etc., don't read too much into a short run

read this for an intro to hr based training...

http://www.bikeradar.com/fitness/articl ... sts-28838/
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • nbuuifx wrote: