Cassette & Chainset

Agrius
Agrius Posts: 3
edited July 2012 in Road beginners
Hi everyone,

Im new to road biking and just about to purchase my first bike. Ive done the hard part and picked a bike, I've decided to go for the Ribble Sportive 7005.
Ive tried to learn as much as possible about bikes and different components but I'm struggling with picking the right cassette and chainset. The Ribble bike builder is great but there is just too much choice for someone who is just starting out.
Therefore can anyone help me pick the correct cassette and chainset please?

I have decided to stick with the Shimano Sora 9 spd double groupset as I can't afford to upgrade. But with this you then get the option of the following cassette - 11-25, 12-23, 12-25, 13-25 and 14-25.
They also give you the options of a Compact 170 34/50 or a Compact 175 34/50 chainset.

I live in south Manchester so will mainly be riding the roads around me during the week nights after work then on the weekend my plan is to find some hills to play on.

Any advice would be very much appreciated!

Thanks,

Comments

• Gizmodo
    Gizmodo Posts: 1,928
    I would go for 11/25 as a beginner.

Edit: I've changed my mind, rather than using that calculator, if you are 6 foot tall or less go for th 170mm, if you are taller or have a very long inside leg, then go for the 175mm.

I'm surprised they don't offer the most common 172.5 option.
  • Hoopdriver
    Hoopdriver Posts: 2,023
    Gizmodo wrote:
    I would go for 11/25 as a beginner.

Edit: I've changed my mind, rather than using that calculator, if you are 6 foot tall or less go for th 170mm, if you are taller or have a very long inside leg, then go for the 175mm.

I'm surprised they don't offer the most common 172.5 option.
    I'll second that
  • kayakerchris
    kayakerchris Posts: 361