Hello - New on the road

markp80
markp80 Posts: 444
edited July 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all,

I've been reading the forum for quite a while now and I've picked up some great help and advice from it, but thought it was time I joined in - so, hello everyone!

I'm new to road cycling. I have an old Saracen MTB but that rarely gets used, and eventhen it's on a leisurely cycle path with MrsP. However, I had quite a bad knee injury playing rugby a year or so ago, and I need to get some fitness back. Gyms aren't for me, but I've always had an interest in cycling, so I've decided this is my opportunity to give it a real go.

My first thought was to go for a mountain bike, for no reason other than that seems to be what everyone buys and versatile. I gave this some thought though, and decided
a) - I wouldn't be strapping it to my car and going off on a weekend, I want something I can ride every evening, straight out the front door
b) - Even if I did have a mountain bike, I'd rarely go off road
c) - I just wanted a road bike and have done for years!

I have an old racer sat in the corner of the garage (that's what we called them when I was a lad!) but it's a bit tired and would need a bit of work to make it roadworthy. It's an old Dawes Debonair which my dad bought 2nd hand for me as a small boy many years ago - I reckon it must be nigh on 50 years old now. I rode that for many years, it has done sterling service, and riding that is probably what planted the seed many years ago. (Lovely engraved alloy handlebars and stem, and still on the original leather seat too!)