Complete novice would like some help!

Bullbag85
Bullbag85 Posts: 8
edited July 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all, I'm completely new to road bikes and would like to give it a go, I'm looking at doing a charity bike ride next year. I have a very limited budget (of £200) and really need some help on what bikes to look out for and what ones to avoid. I get the impression that a second hand bike for my budget would be a much wiser buy than a new bike at that price. Any help for a newbie would be much appreciated.

Comments

• finlayson99
    finlayson99 Posts: 213
    Hi
    For your budget second hand would be good if you can get a decent bike but for £299, have a look at the Decathlon Triban 3. I am more than happy with mine. Seems really good value, is a good weight, has a carbon fork and Shimano group.
    Check it out and good luck.
    Careful though, this roadie lark is addictive.
    SC Heckler
    Chopper Mk2
    Grifter
    Merlin Malt-CR
    Revolution Courier 2
  • mikeouk
    mikeouk Posts: 148
    Bullbag85 wrote:
    Hi all, I'm completely new to road bikes and would like to give it a go, I'm looking at doing a charity bike ride next year. I have a very limited budget (of £200) and really need some help on what bikes to look out for and what ones to avoid. I get the impression that a second hand bike for my budget would be a much wiser buy than a new bike at that price. Any help for a newbie would be much appreciated.

dont buy a new bike at £200, it will be rubbish.

i second the triban at £300, cheapest new road bike with carbon forks. They come up on ebay second hand so might pick one up for £200. Dont buy a bike that doesnt fit properly just because its cheap, thats a massive false economy.
    Look for decent brand, giant, trek, etc, dont buy something like a viking etc that fit in that price range.