Cav and Sky

mr_goo
mr_goo Posts: 3,770
edited July 2012 in Pro race
This has probably been discussed already, so apologies for bringing up again. I am not an expert at the pro race scene, unlike some of you out there, so below is just observation and thoughts.

It occurred to me and another cycling colleague of mine that perhaps Cav joined Sky as matter of convenience, as the British Olympic team will almost all be Sky riders. He will benefit from the integrated training and they clearly want to help him get the gold medal. Yet what happens after the games?
So far you can see that without a team dedicated to deliver him to the line he is going to struggle. He was awesome though on stage 2. Yet I cannot see this being a regular thing, especially now with Lotto gearing up nicely (2x Greipel wins already), Liquigas (Sagan 2 wins) and Greenedge with Goss.
I just wonder whether he will move on at the end of this season or give it one more year. He is after stage win records at the Tour and might not get there in the current set up. Time is also going to be against him. There are teams out there that would set themselves up to work as stage winners only. Perhaps Quickstep is an option? What do those of you with a greater insight think?
Always be yourself, unless you can be Aaron Rodgers....Then always be Aaron Rodgers.

Comments

• iainf72
    iainf72 Posts: 15,784
    Nah, he'll stay. He's on ridiculous money and had a 3 year contract. Not that contracts mean much to Sky.

Also, you really need to expect him to get "slower" and not win as much.
    Fckin' Quintana … that creep can roll, man.
  • Jez mon
    Jez mon Posts: 3,809
    I think we might see a more 50/50 split in Sky's efforts next year, between Cav and Wiggo, because I doubt the course will suit wiggo as much as this year.
    You live and learn. At any rate, you live
  • RichN95.
    RichN95. Posts: 27,241