Do I look stupid?

seanorawe
seanorawe Posts: 950
edited July 2012 in Commuting general
I commute to and from work everyday.

To work is only 3.2 miles but to keep it fast and my change of clothes sweat free, I wear my bib shorts, cycle jersey, leg warmers and arm warmers when needed. And soon ill also have shoes for my clipless pedals I bought. Everyone else in work comes in wearing jeans or track bottoms.

Is it just my paranoid mind t... or are they looking at me and thinking.....Look at this halfwit?
Cube Attain SL Disc
Giant CRS 2.0

Comments

• warreng
    warreng Posts: 535
    That's nowt

I work in the fashon industry and I'm the only bloke in the office, and the only person over 40. I come waddling in cycling shorts, shoes and jersey after a 17 mile ride. The shower room is the other side of the office so I have no option but to walk past about a dozen twenty-something women who all look like models. It puts them right of their skinny lattes
    2015 Cervelo S3
    2016 Santa Cruz 5010
    2016 Genesis Croix de Fer
  • daveski12
    daveski12 Posts: 158
    I cycle in a bright orange top, shorts over my padded ones and my shoes with cleats. After showering and changing I leave my clothes on radiators in the office.

I bet my colleagues love me.
  • Gizmo_
    Gizmo_ Posts: 558
    3.2 miles?

If I'm honest I don't think I'd bother with lycra for that sort of distance.

I feel like a proper berk walking through the office in skintight longs and pixie boots, but I do have a 20km each way commute... it's worth it.
    Scott Sportster P45 2008 | Cannondale CAAD8 Tiagra 2012
  • I know I do, but I don't care. Full on MTB baggies, covered in mud.
    Get lots of comments from people as I walk through the office.

Although I do take my helmet off before I get in - I am aware that the helmet exaggerates my melon-sized bonce. :oops:
    2007 Felt Q720 (the ratbike)
    2012 Cube Ltd SL (the hardtail XC 26er)
    2014 Lapierre Zesty TR 329 (the full-sus 29er)