Which SPD pedal for novice out of these two...?

Good Old Bakes
Good Old Bakes Posts: 89
edited July 2012 in MTB buying advice
I've never used SPD pedals before but I thought that it's about time I learned how to. I've bought some compatible shoes and I've narrowed the pedals down to these 2, which seem the most user/begginer friendly, owing to the large-ish platform, and they're a reasonable price.

Shimano M424
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Shimano-M424-SPD-MTB-Pedals-inc-Cleats-RRP-39-99-/270988749467?pt=UK_sportsleisure_cycling_bikeparts_SR&hash=item3f18302a9b

Shimano M530
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Shimano-M530-SPD-MTB-Pedals-inc-Cleats-BLACK-/290721232234?pt=UK_sportsleisure_cycling_bikeparts_SR&hash=item43b055f56a

The M424's look the most user friendly but the m530's look as if they'd last longer if they got a few whacks. Anyone had experience of either? Cheers.

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • nicklouse wrote:

They're similar to the Wellgo ones that came with my Rockrider. I'm after at bit of a platform to support my foot if I don't manage to clip in straight away tbh, seeing as how I'm an SPD virgin an all that.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Flat or SPD. Combinations are the worst of both worlds.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • bennett_346
    bennett_346 Posts: 5,029
    Personally i like the cage, helps you clip in properly and provides more support for the foot. I wouldn't ever use it as a flat pedal mind.
  • cooldad wrote:
    Flat or SPD. Combinations are the worst of both worlds.

Why is that? Just curious.
  • Greer_
    Greer_ Posts: 1,716
    Either M520's or M530's. Use the search function, been asked hundreds of times and people get tired typing out the same responses. (hence everyone's very short replies)