Good entry level bike - 2012 Specialized Allez?

RT8
RT8 Posts: 18
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
Hey all, I'm pretty new to cycling, only been doing it regularly for about 14 months. Still on my battered Raleigh mountain bike I've had since I was 14 (Now 19) Though as I am getting heavily into cycling and it has become quite a solid and large part of my lifestyle, it's now time for a long overdue upgrade! And while I still consider myself a novice and nothing on a more 'professional' road cyclist - Dragging something uphill that weighs quarter my weight is just no fun my longer day's! (30 miles est).

Anyway, I've browsed many Bicycles, and saved up a fair about so I am in the £700 ish ballpark. Can't afford much more being a student..

I like the sounds of the specialized Allez, and from a friends bike I think the Shimano Sora gearset is more than adequate for the moment.
I am wondering if any fellow riders have experience with this bike? And if in their opinion it's a good choice as a entry level road bike? And if so, would it be worth upgrading it to Shimano 105's at a later date?

Other makes an models suggested will be taken into careful consideration.

Many thanks,

R :)

http://www.tredz.co.uk/.Specialized-All ... _48291.htm
Forme Hiver

Comments

• mb5
    mb5 Posts: 19
    I am no expert but since no one else has weighed in yet--

It seems to me that you get less for your money with the big brands (specialized, trek) than you can elsewhere. I'd say consider the boardman road comp (on sale @ £630), and perhaps look at a brand like planet-X too (+ribble??). But if you are happy to pay for the brand/looks then AFAIK it's a good bike.