Ride fat boy ride...

Crawlinguphills
Crawlinguphills Posts: 95
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
Right, firstly, hello all!

Secondly I could do with some advice. I started riding again at a weight of 23 stone on Mtb's about six months ago. I absloutely love it and have dropped to about 19.10 during this time. My girlfriend is an experienced road cyclist, and in return for throwing herself into MTB's wants me to give road riding a go.

I guess the most important question is am I currently too fat for this? MTB seem far more robust than road bikes, and I dont want to be cycling down the road with cogs and spokes flying off and forks cracking. Am I best just to give it another few months on the MTB until I am a more reasonable weight, or can road bikes handle it? I am also 6ft 3, not sure why that is relevant, but thought I would throw it in there. Has anyone been in a similar situation?

Comments

• finlayson99
    finlayson99 Posts: 213
    Hi and welcome

IMHO there won't be any problem riding a road bike. They seem fragile but in reality are strong and won't give you any problems as long as you don't do anything "daft."

The weight will continue dropping anyway as you ride it.

Good luck and enjoy
    SC Heckler
    Chopper Mk2
    Grifter
    Merlin Malt-CR
    Revolution Courier 2
  • slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    Why don't you google 39stonecyclist and read up on his experience ... :)
  • alwaystoohot
    alwaystoohot Posts: 252
    Get on wih it fella and enjoy yourself.
    'I started with nothing and still have most of it left.'