Which fork for Hardrock?

Garett
Garett Posts: 29
edited August 2012 in MTB buying advice
I have a 2011 Specialized Hardrock with a standard fork I've been thinking of changing.

The choices I have seen are as follows:

Rockshox Recon Silver Coil - Seems very good value for money, on-one do the 2011 model for £110
Rockshox Recon Silver Solo air - As above but a bit lighter but you pay for that weight loss.
Rockshox Recon Gold - Seems to get good reviews but again lighter and more expensive (are internals same as silver?)
Rockshox Reba - Seems the go to fork and can be picked up for the same or even cheaper than the Recon Gold if you shop around! Would a Reba be overkill on a Hardrock?

I do mainly local XC and trail centre so pretty standard stuff, i'm a relative newb so I'm looking for some pointers to help me make the right decision. Budget is upto £250 depending on stuff I'm selling on eBay at the moment!

Cheers

Comments

• chrisw333
    chrisw333 Posts: 695
    A Reba would be perfect. But think you need to stick to 100mm travel with a hardrock (?), so will need to space it down if you get the 120mm changeable ones
  • Garett
    The standard fork is 80mm, so you're right I think 120mm would effect the handling characteristics adversely. I'd definitely be looking at 100mm.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    If you can get the Reba - get one ;-). 100mm will be fine.
  • Giraffoto
    Giraffoto Posts: 2,078
    The Hardrock works OK with a 100mm fork - I've gone with the coil-sprung Recon Gold. When you do the swap just take a moment to hold the old fork in one hand and your new one in the other - you'll be amazed at the difference in weight
    Specialized Roubaix Elite 2015
    XM-057 rigid 29er
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    I swapped the 80mm Suntour fork on my Hardrock for a 100mm Rockshox Tora SL, made a huge difference to the way the bike rides.