Basic bike maintenance and tweeks

Thevicar1984
Thevicar1984 Posts: 10
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all,
Thought I'd post again seeing as everybody was rather helpful on the last post.
Basically I have a few questions. Baring in mind i'm pretty new to all this.

1. How often should I clean my chain and what lubricant/oil would be best? Also whats the best way to do this?

2. I have a cheapy Raleigh Pursuit and it has the (I think) cantilever brakes. To be honest they are not all that clever. My budget is super tight and I have done well just to get the bike I did. I was wondering, like a car, if I got different brake pads, would this make a difference. Or are cantilever brakes pretty rubbish?? Just wondering if I can make what I got a little better without spending too much etc

Thanks all

Comments

• velogee
    velogee Posts: 133
    I got a Barberi type chain cleaner that cleans, and lubricates the chain in situ. I use it about once a month, it keeps things sweet. It comes with degresser and oil as well. Cheap on ebay.

I know nothing about brakes, other than the discs on my mountain bike are awesome
    Madone 4.9 2014
    Jeffsy 27.5 2018
  • petemadoc
    petemadoc Posts: 2,331
    Chain cleaning is a dark art. You can buy chain cleaners but I prefer to have a quick link in the chain so I can remove it and clean it properly every now and then (whenever it looks filthy).

Cantilever brakes are quite bad but you can improve performance by making sure they are set up properly and you could invest in better pads if you think the ones you already have are really poor. I've tried a few different pads over the years, cheap and expensive ones and I always get these now, best value vs cost that are available.

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/ashima-v-brake- ... e-shoepad/