Difference between 2011 & 2012 Tiagra

NITR8s
NITR8s Posts: 688
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
I have a choice of getting the 2011 eddie merckx AMX-1 or the 2012 and other than a colour change from white to black the main difference is the Tiagra being 10 speed on the 2012.

However, the 2012 bike at the moment costs £120 more. Is it worth paying the extra £120 to get the newer 10 speed Tiagra or not?

http://www.winstanleysbikes.co.uk/product/39086/Eddy_Merckx_AMX1_Tiagra_Bike_2011- 2011

http://www.winstanleysbikes.co.uk/product/46022/Eddy_Merckx_AMX1_Tiagra_2012_Bike - 2012

Comments

• ianbar
    ianbar Posts: 1,354
    I'm no expert but i would pay the extra simply because it looks nicer!
    enigma esprit
    cannondale caad8 tiagra 2012
  • NITR8s
    You prefer the black to the white then? Although the handlebars are different, you can actually choose which one you want on either year anyway.
  • getprg
    getprg Posts: 245
    It depends on bike quiver. Is this your first bike? If so then going 10 speed rather than 9 might make a lot of sense - so that when you buy bike no2 you will prob want a better model - that is likely to be a 10 speed (tho shimano are now introducing 11). 10 speed wheel sets are the interchangeable between bikes summer and winter if needed and if using an indoor trainer.

Finally, IIRC the 10 speed tiagra (depending on cage choice) offers a wider choice of rear cassette than 9 speed including I think at least 29 tooth (or even 30+) which would be really useful for the tougher sportives (Fred Witton anyone?)
  • NITR8s
    This will be my second bike and even the 2011 tiagra is an upgrade from my current gearing of shimano 2200 8 speed. I currently ride a standard chainset 53/39 with a 11-25 cassestte and have managed to do exmoor beauty on it. So would assume that even the compact 50/34 with 11-26 cassette 9 speed would be a big help anyway.

Also considering I would be going from a 11 possibly 12kg bike to a 9kg bike.