Hello from Berkshire - just bought my first bike in 20 years

pjd2209
pjd2209 Posts: 17
edited July 2012 in MTB beginners
Hello,

Just thought i would introduce myself and see if i can get any advice/constructive criticism on my choice of bike

Many moons ago i used to ride BMX in Portsmouth, and on a very rare occasion still do, however thought i needed a "grown up" bike for exploring the area so i decided on....

A Carrera Vengeance

Im totally new to this so would greatly appreciate any advice on first step upgrades etc, if you more knowledgeable guys think its necessary?

look forward to it

Comments

• bomberesque
    bomberesque Posts: 1,701
    welcome to the world of bikes with proper sized wheels on!

now find some forest and go thrash the nuts off that thing. getting obsessive about upgrading can wait a couple of weeks at least!
    Everything in moderation ... except beer
    Beer in moderation ... is a waste of beer

If riding an XC race bike is like touching the trail,
    then riding a rigid singlespeed is like licking it
    ... or being punched by it, depending on the day
  • waby1234
    waby1234 Posts: 571
    Yep as above, go and ride. Only upgrade as things wear out or you reach limitations. First things I changed on my bike were the grips, saddle, and pedals.
    2011 Carrera Fury

Earn cashback at CRC, Wiggle, Evans, Rutland, Hargroves, Halfords, and more at Quidco
  • Also a returner after the best part of two decades, have had a Vengeance myself for the last six months or thereabouts, and put a good few miles on it in that time over various bits of nature. Potted summary so far...

Bits broken \ fallen off : Nothing broken, only thing that's fallen off is me.
    Bits upgraded : Pedals, but only because I wanted to go clipless asap
    Bits worn out : Back tyre's nearly done, cassette and chain on the verge of succumbing to the endless mud.
    Only bit that's just rubbish : The brakes.
    Bits that do the job : See everything bar brakes.