Is it worth to upgrade 12-25 to 12-28 cassette?

Thanh55
Thanh55 Posts: 25
edited June 2012 in Road general
Hi Expert
I'm new to cycling, just got my bike and feeling quite hard on the hill, after browsing the internet and have no idea so I started here looking for help. Chain set is double (39-54) cassette is 12-25 (don't know those between cogs) I looking for a bit gentle to my leg when up hill so is it worth to upgrade to 12-28 or can I go 12-32? an I hope that I don't have to extend my chain if possible. Many thanks for your help.

Kind regards
Thanh

Comments

• skyd0g
    skyd0g Posts: 2,540
    a 12-28 would effectively give you one extra 'bail out gear'
    as you have a 'standard' front chain-set, and are possibly a 'beginner' (judging purely from number of posts), it may be worth considering changing to a 'compact' chain-set - ie 50:34 on the front, which would give you a wider (and lower) choice of gears, without compromising the gaps between gears.

(you would need to lower your front mech & possibly shorten your chain).

More expensive than changing the cassette, but possibly the best option.

Take a look at Sheldon Brown's page on gear ratios. http://sheldonbrown.com/gears/
    Cycling weakly
  • Wirral_paul
    Wirral_paul Posts: 2,476
    Hi

As above, a cassette would give you that extra gear to help get you up the hills. I guess it depends on how much you struggle really. I ride a lot in N Wales and so found that the switch to compact was worthwhile.

You should fit a longer chain with the 12-28 really - otherwise you could risk damaging the rear mech if you ride big ring with big sprocket. With a compact, you would need to shorten the chain slightly.

Cost of a chain and cassette vs a compact chainset could well be pretty close - so i'd generally say go for the compact and stay with the 12-25 to keep the close ratio gearing. What chainset are you using at the moment?
  • nferrar
    nferrar Posts: 2,511