Confident Descending

Peddle Up!
Peddle Up! Posts: 2,040
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
I know topics get reposted here time and time again so I guess this post is no crime. :)

I'm still working on descending with confidence but can't seem to nail it. If I put weight on the pedals I can feel the bike stabilise as the centre of gravity lowers, but the steering then become too light (to my mind) and I feel less in control. If I put weight on the bars the road vibration induces wobble and makes me feel as if I'm about to come off. Any speed over 30mph seems insane. Has anyone faced this and cracked it?

All the usual comments like HTFU and MTFU taken as read. 8)
Purveyor of "up" :)

Comments

• daxplusplus
    daxplusplus Posts: 631
    Could it be your bike rather than you?

I'm pretty new to road bikes so my only experience is on my 2010 Trek 1.5 and it's totally stable at speed - doesn't really matter what I do with the pedals. I don't put a lot of weight on them when I'm coasting - sometimes I pedal like a nutter and put loads of power through them .. makes no difference to the handling whatsoever.

I am on the drops when I'm really tanking it (approx 50mph) down the Old Cirencester Road into Cheltenham.

However going down the hill past the Green Dragon I hit 30mph max on the hoods and it's absolutely stable. I can steer, brake .. all fine. BTW I'm on the hoods mainly because I really, really don't want to go any faster down that hill!

I grip the hoods pretty tight becuase it feels like there's more chance of my hands slipping off - I'm gripping the hood, steering the bike and using the brakes - all from that one position and although I'm pretty strong I'd say being on the hoods is not ideal). On the drops I'm much more relaxed becuae it's a much more stable postion for both my body and my hands.

I can't imagine I'm doing anything that much different from you .. so maybe it is a bike thing?
    Sometimes you're the hammer, sometimes you're the nail