Max HR jump: Should I Worry?

nick300zx
nick300zx Posts: 219
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
Hi,
I've been using a Garmin 500 with HR strap for a few months. When I first got it I worked out my max HR (climbing hill method) to be 179. This was a bit higher than the other method (i've forgotton how that works, i'm 49).I've only been riding for about 6-7 months so my fitness is improving steadily.
When i was doing the Sussex Scramble Sportive last week we came to a 'bump' about 10 miles in. I started to get a bit breathless about half way up, looked at the Garmin and my heart rate was 188! I immediately stopped to let it drop and then carried on with no great problem.
I've just had a quick whizz around Richmond Pk. today and again my HR jumped to 183.
Now both times it happened I was out of the saddle and pushing a bit so should I be worried or is it that i'm getting fitter and pushing much harder than before?

Any advice greatly appreciated

Comments

• cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Your HR doesnt suddenly jump. It rises gradually and with great effort to your max. This is probably just interference. Try tightening the band.
  • slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    It can jump - mine does on occasion - and it's not the hrm - I can feel my heart pounding.
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Id go get checked out at the Docs then. It shouldn't jump.
  • slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    It's adrenaline - get a kick of that and it'll "jump" pretty rapidly .. don't need to be checked out by the doc - I know what caused the hit ..
  • dawebbo
    dawebbo Posts: 456
    It means that 179 isn't your max hr.
  • Wrath Rob
    Wrath Rob Posts: 2,918