tricket Posts: 123
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
Hello,

I have a Fuji Newest 3.0, which is 24 speed and has the following:

Shimano 2303 shifters
Shimano 2303 front mech
Shimano Sora rear mech
Fuji triple chainset

So I'm looking at upgrading the 2303 stuff to match the Sora rear mech (as I'm still fairly new to road riding, so I don't require top level kit yet), but I'm a little confused.

When I look at Sora triple front mechs specifically, they are always listed as '9 speed', but I only have an 8 speed cassette. So, do I have to swap the cassette to 9 speed as well (as that will require a new shifter surely?) or will it not matter?

Any help much appreciated.

Comments

• snoopsmydogg
    snoopsmydogg Posts: 1,110
    9 speed front mech on 8 speed will be fine but tbh save your money its not really worth changing from 2303 to sora. you wouldnt see any difference other than a lighter wallet.

iirc 2303 is only an older version of sora anyway
  • craker
    craker Posts: 1,739
    8 spd -> 9 spd you'll need shifters, chain & cassette minimum. You should be able to keep both mechs.
  • jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062
    What has been said.. you can pick up Tiagra 4600 full groupset for about £300.. makes the work into something like an upgrade.
  • NITR8s
    NITR8s Posts: 688
    You could sell your current bike and use the money you get from it plus the £300 you was gonna spend on a tiagra groupset and buy a new bike that comes with a Tiagra or even 105 set.
  • tricket
    9 speed front mech on 8 speed will be fine but tbh save your money its not really worth changing from 2303 to sora. you wouldnt see any difference other than a lighter wallet.

iirc 2303 is only an older version of sora anyway

Thanks, that's what I was hoping the outcome was going to be. And point taken on the Sora.
  • tricket
    NITR8s wrote: