New with a few questions

Thevicar1984
Thevicar1984 Posts: 10
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
Hello all,
I'm very new to cycling. I'm 28 and the last time I cycle was probably 20 years ago. I have been at it a month and can comfortably cycle 30 miles without problems.
I run Ultra marathons and cycling is my cross training but as time has crept on i'm really enjoying the cycling and perhaps would be thinking about signing up to a few local events.
I am asking for super brutal honest advice. I do not have much money and this alone has been the sole contributing factor as to what I have purchased.
I have a new Raleigh Pursuit-yes the gear changers are on the top. I think it looks quite smart. I have had the toe cages up until today where I bought some spd sl pedals?? With shoes and cleats etc. I also bought a cheapy cycling T shirt and leggings with the padded bits etc. I have a little bag under my seat for inner tube and pump plus a bottle holder on the inner frame.
I was wondering if I were to rock up to an event would I get strange looks with a super cheap bike and kit?
Just that when out riding and I see other cyclists they do not even acknowledge i'm there. When I am out running everybody says Hi. Was wondering if I was looking like a proper amateur???
Any advice and tips on how to fit in and not look like a numpty would be appreciated

Comments

• kayakerchris
    kayakerchris Posts: 361
    Ignore the idiots and smile at everybody, is my motto.
  • Cleat Eastwood
    Cleat Eastwood Posts: 7,508
    dude you turn up at any event and you'll people of all shapes, sizes and abilities - most if not all will have the cycling kit you describe - the clothes are comfy, the saddle bag has your essentials, some people like clipless pedals- some not, the one thing that bonds them is that they are there to enjoy the ride - so do the same - its meant to be fun
    The dissenter is every human being at those moments of his life when he resigns