How many pennies?

new2this12
new2this12 Posts: 7
edited June 2012 in MTB beginners
Hey hey

So im totally new to this an im sure you mtb boffins have heard all this before .. however im pretty much lost with trying to decide how much to part with for my first bike?

So ive always wanted to get into mtb but never really got round to it.. no i found a buddy at work who is very keen and hey presto, I want in .. so this leads me to bike shopping ..

now i can get a commuter loan through my employer for upto £1500, my friend at work suggests that i spend the lot .. however i cant help but thinking will i be spending more than i need to? how much should i spend on a first bike? i think something around the £700 mark will get me a decent pre-owned hardtail .. but then again what the hell do i know!?!

please point me in the right direction folks!! much appreciated :D

Comments

• oodboo
    oodboo Posts: 2,171
    My advice to complete beginner would be to get a second-hand bike for around £300. Ride that while you work out:
    1 - do you enjoy riding enough to warrant an expensive bike
    2 - what type of riding you will do the most and enjoy the most
    3 - what type of bike will suit that purpose the best.

Then spend the big bucks :)
    I love horses, best of all the animals. I love horses, they're my friends.

Strava
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    95%* of all first bikes bought end up rusting in a shed or being dumped on Ebay, so I would echo oodboo's advice.

*obviously I made this up. But I reckon it's not far off.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Tbh that was my thinking ... with the loan from work its all too easy to go nuts but I dont think its necessary ... i will just keep my eyes peeled on the classifieds .. next question .. full suss or hardtail? such a mindfield ...

cheers for ya advice chaps