what to do at traffic lights - clipless pedals

elduderinoo
elduderinoo Posts: 17
edited July 2012 in Commuting general
Hi guys,

I'm new to commuting and cycling in general. I have a road bike with clipless pedals. I've mainly got it to train to compete in triathlons but I'm also using it to cycle to work.

I'm very new to the bike and the clip less pedals. My question is what do you do when you get to traffic lights? I've been trying to balance and anticipate the lights so I don't have to unclip....but sometimes I obviously do. So when I push off again I've got to clip back in....sometimes this doesn't work so well....I miss the clip and have to have a few attempts....it's not great when you're at the front of a queue of traffic....feels a bit dangerous.

What do you do?

Comments

• jeepie
    jeepie Posts: 497
    I take it you are using one sided road pedals like Looks? I didn't get on with these for commuting and had the same problems in heavy traffic or stopping on steep hills.

I'd recommend either Speedplays if you want a road pedal or Time ATAC Carbons if you want a more sensible commuting pedal.

It took me two years of persevering with the Looks before I ditched them, so up to you.
  • MrChuck
    MrChuck Posts: 1,663
    Use SPDs rather than SPD-SLs.

OK, that's a bit flippant. But I'm assuming you've got SLs, and if you want to stick with them you just need to get better at clipping in and/or trackstands.

I have SLs on my road bike and personally I'd never use them for commuting for the very reasons you describe, plenty on here do though.
  • turnerjohn
    turnerjohn Posts: 1,069
    MrChuck wrote:
    Use SPDs rather than SPD-SLs.

OK, that's a bit flippant. But I'm assuming you've got SLs, and if you want to stick with them you just need to get better at clipping in and/or trackstands.

I have SLs on my road bike and personally I'd never use them for commuting for the very reasons you describe, plenty on here do though.