Finding t-max using Watt bike

elduderinoo
elduderinoo Posts: 17
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
Hi,

I've been reading this interesting article here:

http://www.bicycling.com/training-nutri ... e-interval

I'm lucky enough to belong to a gym with 6 watt bikes in it. Watt bikes allow you to measure Peak Power Output. I want to find my t-max using the info in the article above....there's just one thing that confuses me about it though and I'm hoping someone can clarify for me.

In point one (Find your t-max) is says:

"the number of watts you produce just before collapsing is your peak power output, or PPO."

So I've cycled, starting at 100 watts, and increasing by 30 every minute....until I'm totally spent (cadence is around 60)....is my Peak Power Output (PPO) the watts that are displaying on the wattbike at that precise moment before I can't go anymore? Is it that simple?

Comments

• springtide9
    springtide9 Posts: 1,731
    I'm no expert, but it sounds about right.

I guess you will start off cycling at your usual cadence while the effort is low and then increase the resistance as described. Obviously power is related to both torque (how hard it is to turn the pedals) AND cadence.

As you increase the resistance, there will come a time where your cadence will drop (and hence power), but you could theoretically keep increasing the resistance.

The goal is to increase power and not resistance, so you will need to have a few goes to work out how you produce the most power.

I got this from someone about Power Based Workouts:
    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1-5L ... B1yuc/edit

.... which might be useful.
    Simon
  • blackhands
    blackhands Posts: 950
    As you can probably put in one last big momentary effort before you collapse, the power output at the point of collapse is not particularly useful. This is why exercise physiologists use 'maximum minute power' - that is the mean power over the final minute.