n00b looking for buying advice

alextwilson
alextwilson Posts: 21
edited August 2013 in MTB buying advice
Hey there.

I've just moved over from boring Peterborough to London and work in Chigwell which isn't too far from Epping Forest which from what I hear is pretty decent for having a go around. I'm a beginner, right at the very bottom, but I'd like to start in the MTB world before maybe going somewhere else millions of years down the line.

So, the dull question; where to start? I hear good things about the Carrera Vulcan, and ideally my budget would be under £400.

Cheers!

Alex

Comments

• Clank
    Clank Posts: 2,323
    For the budget, either a Carrera or one of the Decathlon Rockriders. Both are pretty much unbeatable for the money and both are seriously good starting points.

Could also be worth checking out the 'London Rides' thread in the Rides, Routes and Holidays forum. Regular off-road rides in the London area - what's not to like?

And welcome to the forum!
    How would I write my own epitaph? With a crayon - I'm not allowed anything I can sharpen to a sustainable point.

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed herein are worth exactly what you paid for them.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    That would be London Calling.

And Hi
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Clank
    Clank Posts: 2,323
    cooldad wrote:
    That would be London Calling.

Yup, that it would! :oops: :lol:
    How would I write my own epitaph? With a crayon - I'm not allowed anything I can sharpen to a sustainable point.

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed herein are worth exactly what you paid for them.
  • This is the most gigantic of bumps, hah.

Never got round to buying a bike through C2W as I now live onsite and I don't think they'll let me get away with it, ha.