Front Rim Replacement Needed After A Crash

benmatthews
benmatthews Posts: 4
edited June 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hi,

I am really new to the sport and really need some help please, I have started going over Cannock Chase and on Sunday I had a really hard crash and knocked myself out and fractured a finger. Worse of all I buckled my front wheel and need to replace it, I have a Specialized Hardrock 2011 and the Rims are: Alex Rims HRD Double Wall 55x17 6061-T6 26", 6-bolt Disc Brake, Quick Release.
Below is a photo of the label:

I have searched for a like for like replacement but can't find one. Could someone please suggest a good alternative as I am absolutely clueless?

Thanks for any help in advance.

Ben

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    By the time you've replaced it and had a new wheel built up, you're probably better off buying a new wheel. Unless you can build it yourself.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • I just noticed it should have been 559x17. Thanks for the reply, if I went down the whole wheel with spokes option - could you suggest anything specific?
  • 386ka
    386ka Posts: 479
    What is your budget? Would you consider investing in a wheelset or just a new rim to get you back mountainbiking? What is your type of riding?
    A much loved, Giant Trance X3 2010
  • ilovedirt
    ilovedirt Posts: 5,798
    What cooldad said. Unless you can source the exact same rim (you'll save a ton on spokes that way), you're better off buying a new wheel.
    Production Privee Shan

B'Twin Triban 5
  • felix.london
    felix.london Posts: 4,067
    What you looking to spend?

Personally I'd head over to Superstar Components;
    http://superstar.tibolts.co.uk/product_info.php?cPath=52&products_id=315

and custom build one
    "Why have that extra tooth if you're not using it?" - Brian Lopes

Votec V.SX Enduro 'Alpine Thug' 2012/2013 build

Trek Session 8