FIRST BIKE, NEW TO CYCLING

gareth2608
gareth2608 Posts: 14
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all

im new to cycling and thinking about getting a new bike. ive chatted with a friend of mine who has cycled for 20+ yrs so have picked his brains a bit.

i am considering the trek 2.5 compact 2011

i have stood across a few bikes and all the shops i went in suggested a 52cm bike frame.

im getting confused with the trek info, i see H2 after some bikes but the trek 2011 just says compact (is that the gears as its not a triple)? but what frame is the trek 2011 2.5 H2 or not, i cant see on the web of what frame it is, is this an ideal bike for a beginer who plans to use it to get fit and do some charity bike rides, so is the trek 2.5 a more sportive bike rather than a racer

also can i raise the handlebars up from what the pictures show.

ive bought some pedals, and a decent pump, looking at bike shoes, ive also got helmet and decent cycling shorts - anything else i need?

any help would be appreciated

Comments

• harrydaisy
    harrydaisy Posts: 131
    Sorry cant offer too much advice on the Trek, but from a kit point of view the best advice I can give is a decent rain jacket, multiple pairs of good padded cycling shorts and without a shadow of doubt chamois cream for your rear end. You will need it at some point :lol:

Enjoy
    Wilier Izoard XP "Petacchi"/ Campag Veloce/ Fulcrum Racing 5
    Bianchi Via Nirone 7/ Campag Xenon
  • pinno
    pinno Posts: 52,102
    http://www.competitivecyclist.com

Click on fit calculator - top right corner. You'll need an assistant. As you will see, there are 3 fits: Competitive Fit, The Eddy Fit (Eddy Merckx) and the French fit.
    It depends on what you want to do, your physiology and your flexibility (and this can change).

French fit is great for climbing. The competitive fit is difficult as not all of us can get the body flat enough and still be mechanically efficient. Eddy fit is best for randonees/sportives and start-up.