Rockrider 8.1 Tyres

Evvo
Evvo Posts: 14
edited June 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hi all , im quite new to mountain biking and also this forum, I have recently purchaes a RR 8.1 which I am using for a mixture or tarmac riding & forest trils mixed with loose gravel.

The bike is great but i am finding the tyres are very skittish both on tarmac & the forest trails, they are Rockrider Btwin own brand & even the cheap own brand tyres on my last cheapo mtb seemed much better.

Can anybody reccomend a better tyre & what sort of pressure that I should be running them at?

Thanks

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Continental Mountain King 2.2 Black Chili, pressure, start at 30psi and see how it feels.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Big fan of Maxxis Ignitor Advantage (soft compound) for general trail riding - nice rounded profile and good all rounders.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • I do similar riding to yourself and first thing I did when I got mine was take the crappy btwin tyres off and replace them with a pair of Scwalbe Land Cruisers. They've been absolutely spot on, much easier on the tar and no loss of grip on the trails. Of course, if I was just riding technical off road stuff I'd stick to dedicated knobblies but the Schwalbes have done everything I expected of them.
  • Evvo
    Thanks for the replies Glad im not the only one who thinks the btwin tyres are terrible.

The schwalbe Land cruisers look to be a good bet? & reasonably priced too I think I may give them a shot.
  • Evvo