My first road bike....

JonnyJH
JonnyJH Posts: 47
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all...
I’m very new to the world of cycling having not even ridden a bike since I got a driving licence some 10 years ago!
But after renting a room from a mate for the last 4 months who is a triathlon nut and training for the upcoming Ironman it seems the riding bug has caught and last week I cashed in my Ride2Work voucher for a shiny new Jamis Ventura Race 2012 :)
After a frustratingly busy weekend I finally managed to get out on it yesterday for two short 7 mile rides.
I made 2 realisations, firstly I have been a lazy bugger for way to many years! I might be pretty skinny (5’8” and a meagre 55kg) but I am not by any definition fit! Neither of the rides were exactly hilly, but far from flat. On both my average only just made double figures :(
My second realisation was damn my as* hurts, like REALLY hurts! Made another trip to the shop where I bought the bike today and they were very helpful. They adjusted the fit slightly and came to the conclusion the cheep standard saddle was far too narrow for me and swapped it for a wider Specialized saddle. Despite still feeling the pain from yesterday the bike instantly felt more comfortable, but I suppose the true test will be on my next ride tomorrow....

So, has anyone got any useful tips for a very unfit total beginner?

Jon

Comments

• lc1981
    lc1981 Posts: 820
    edited June 2012