How stiff should your shoes be?

alex1rob
alex1rob Posts: 95
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
Hi everyone.

I've been riding my boardman for a couple of years now and am slowly increasing the distance. 500 miles in a good month at the moment.

The whole time I've been using some MTB Pearl Izumi SPD shoes, recently I've noticed that I'm getting some pain in my fifth toe (metatarsalgia) on longer rides. Feels like a burning in the underside of my foot. I'm wondering if it's the shoes as I had a look at how stiff they are and I can pretty easily bend the sole at the toe level.

The only thing is I have nothing to compare it to. So is this abnormal?

Cheers

Comments

• My MTb shoes are more flexible than my road shoes infact I cannot bend the sole on my road shoes as they are carbon fibre , hope that helps a little
    Trek Madone 5.9 2012
    Cboardman Team 2011
  • klep
    klep Posts: 158
    I'm also riding SPD's on my roadbike because I had to buy the shoes anyway for spinning classes. I used to ride with Look Keo pedals and some cheap roadshoes but they are way less comfortable than the SPD's I'm using at the moment. Despite all that I also encountered the same problem as yourself. On long rides (especially wet ones) my big toe and later on all my toes start to hurt, and it feels like it has to do with the flexibility of the shoes.

I'd say if you got the cash, try out some roadshoes but make sure to fit them first and make a testride with different types if possible. As there are different systems (Look, SPD-sl, speedplay) and you've got to find the shoe that fits your feet best.
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 17,151
    imho road shoe soles should be super stiff, if there's any give at the ball of the foot then you'll get higher pressure from the cleat, that might be the cause of the pain