Wind Help

PimpMyBike
PimpMyBike Posts: 50
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
Hello . I just bought myself a new bicycle . I'm a beginner as you can tell and I find riding in moderately strong wind really tiring . Do you have any tips to overcome the wind ?

Comments

• P_Tucker
    P_Tucker Posts: 1,878
    Ride more slowly
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 17,151
    if you get into a lower position you will reduce your frontal area

use a lower gear, keep higher cadence, grit teeth
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • Ringo 68
    Ringo 68 Posts: 441
    Get as aerodynamic as you can to reduce the winds effect and find a gear you can spin the pedals at a good cadence without tiring your legs, almost as you were going up a hill.
    Cube Agree GTC Pro
    Boardman Comp
    Carrera Subway Hybrid
  • freezing77
    freezing77 Posts: 731
    PimpMyBike wrote:
    Hello . I just bought myself a new bicycle . I'm a beginner as you can tell and I find riding in moderately strong wind really tiring . Do you have any tips to overcome the wind ?

Draft someone!!!!!!!!!
  • ShutUpLegs
    ShutUpLegs Posts: 3,522
    Change direction
  • simona75
    simona75 Posts: 336
    Outside of technique there's a few other things you can do make your ride easier. I always find it best to ride into the wind on the outward section of any ride, knowing that you will get a push on the way home will give you a mental boost. Also on suitable roads (such as quiet lanes) try and use things like hedgerows for shelter. Finally on v windy days try and take a lumpier route as that offers a bit more natural shelter

All the best, Ray Mears
  • Bozman
    Bozman Posts: 2,518
    If the wind is bad i'll plan my route around the wind, there's no point in riding in to the wind for 75% of the ride when you can have it behind you for 75% of the time. Plus, Ascent - tail wind , descent - head wind, impossible to use it all of the time but try and use it as an advantage when you can.