Braking with Carbon Tubular Rims & Tub Security

Sergeant Rock
Sergeant Rock Posts: 56
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
Hi

I recently acquired a lovely set of wheels - 50mm ultralight carbon deep section Gigantex tubular rims built up on Royce Hubs with CX-Ray spokes. Great wheels which run very quick and lively. I'm new to carbon and haven't ridden tubs for many years but I wanted a set of reliable out and out lightweights.

I went with Enve carbon specific brake blocks which give good stopping power and modulation. However a couple of times, when under heavy braking in the hills, I can detect an overheating kind of smell from the rim / blocks and there is some brake block residue on the rim. My question is how normal is this smell and am I overheating the rim. The main concern of course is rolling the tub. I am using Tufo S3 Lites with Tufo tape, the universal tape that they now do - they have dropped the extreme version.

Another consideration I have with regard to tub security is running pressure, which I am running at fairly low pressures, for Tufo 110 to 120 psi, to improve the ride suppleness - they still roll perfectly well. Will these lower pressures affect the adheredness of the tub under hot braking?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 75,661
    The smell - wouldn't worry. If in doubt, brake less. It sounds flippant but I mean it. Only brake when you absolutely have to, and keep it hard (within reason) and brief.

The Psi - 110 isn't low - and as long as they're properly glued/taped it won't be a problem. To put it into context, pretty much all pros run tubs at Paris Roubaix, and they run them as low as 60psi.
  • keith57
    keith57 Posts: 164
    Don't ride the brakes, use them when necessary, on, then off, it's the same for alloy too, especially on long Alpine descents.

I really like Zipp cork pads on my carbon rims, excellent modulation and no grabbing at low speed.
    http://www.fachwen.org