Navigation?

cameronb
cameronb Posts: 102
edited June 2012 in MTB general
If you were riding somewhere you've not gone before for a substantial ride eg 20 miles cross country how would you navigate it? Do you take a map, written directions of the route or have a garmin or something similar? The reason I'm asking is i fancy doing the ladybower loop as i live very local and just wondered what most people would do to get around it, I'm still pretty new to mountain biking and have only had a road bike for quite a while now and im worried i will get lost haha

Comments

• Clank
    Clank Posts: 2,323
    Paper map and a compass works fine me. Plan your route before head out so you know where on the map you're supposed to be and go for it.

Stopping and checking the map regularly is viewed by some as a ball ache, but you'll be suprised how much better it can get you in touch with the lay of the land.
    How would I write my own epitaph? With a crayon - I'm not allowed anything I can sharpen to a sustainable point.

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed herein are worth exactly what you paid for them.
  • Yacoby
    Yacoby Posts: 211
    I just take a decent map (Meaning I take a OS map :P)
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Research before hand, map just in case and a sense of direction and willingness to explore with ability to spot trail entrances.

Can't be doing with following a dot on a GPS. Never learn the trails that way and are focused on the gadget more than the trail. Following people who do know is best but do have to pay attention if you want to remember it next time.

I tend to navigate by familiar sights or what logically must come next in a particular direction. Generally works.

Though if it's a trail centre kind of place, likelyhood it's all marked. Just follow the signs, or other people. If it's a dull one that's when I start looking at the sides of the trail for the unofficial stuff.
  • mak3m
    mak3m Posts: 1,394
    deadkenny wrote: