Which shin/knee pads?!

jaggy_snake
jaggy_snake Posts: 8
edited June 2012 in MTB buying advice
So I'm pretty new to this biking thing, and had my first serious tumble recently. It was bad enough to merit a trip to the hospital and an operation, so I'm going to invest in some GOOD protection. I'm not keen on the hard plastic guards so have been looking at a few soft pads. I've sorted out my arms so the advice I am looking for is for knee pads, specifically knee/shin pads. Here are the ones I am considering:

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=80040

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=59944

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=73274

If anyone has any experience with these it would be great to hear from you - the last thing I want to do is waste money, and I'm not too keen on visiting the hospital again.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Comments

• Woody80
    Woody80 Posts: 324
    I use 661 veggies for all day riding - I've got barely any skin on my knee from a motorbike accident so almost always wear them. Barely notice them when riding really but give me the extra confidence to go a bit more "balls out"!

Looking at the Rampage range now though for DH and an Alps trip.
  • Thanks for your input! I don't think i feel that the veggies are substantial enough for the kind of riding I do. I was contemplating getting the veggie shin guards and having a separate knee pad but I've been told that'll just be uncomfortable. Think this is going to be a bit of trial and error...
  • Woody80
    Woody80 Posts: 324
    What kind of riding will you be doing? I've used these for anything from trail centres to rocky Peak District descents and DH runs at the Forest of Dean.

That said I don't seem to fall off when wearing them, only when I don't! The Rampage ones are a bit more rugged with the D3O type foam.

I do like the look of the POC ones but they are crazy money compared to anything else!