First 20K

baldwin471
baldwin471 Posts: 366
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
I know 20 km is bugger all to all you pros, but I'm just getting into cycling so don't be too harsh :roll:

So, my first 20 km ride. Well overall it was ok. Here is the strava link - http://app.strava.com/rides/9834656

If you've looked at the link you're probably thinking "That doesn't say 20km" and i'll tell you why.

Basically i paused the workout where it has the finishing point on the map to have a break and a drink (Still pretty poor at climbing and that hill is mighty steep at points). I then started again, went to the top of the hill, back down and back the route i came plus another 2-3km. Unfortunately i forgot to press resume on the app, and i didn't realise anything was wrong till i got home and looked at the screen :cry:

My biggest problem with climbing isn't my cardio, although that could also do with some work, but my quads.

Now, i don't think i have weak leg muscles, i can lift much more weight on quad extension and squats than my friend who also cycles, yet he has no problem with his quads when going uphill. It feels like a really bad muscle fatigue, but it starts about 10-15 seconds into any climb and i'm just not able to push through it. I don't think it is a mental thing, my legs just physically push the pedals until i have a break.