camping at lee valley campsite

dazza3512
dazza3512 Posts: 58
edited June 2012 in Tour & expedition
hi guys,i will be cycling from dover to newcastle,starting next monday,doing the NCN route no 1 all the way,my second night ,i will be using the lee valley caravan and camping site in central london,has any body used this site,is it safe to leave bikes outside etc, /
He travels fastest who travels alone

Comments

• andymiller
    andymiller Posts: 2,856
    Your best bet is probably to check out ukcampsites.co.uk (or something like that) for reviews.

No campsite near a big city is 100 per cent safe so lock your bike if you can - or ask the owners if there is somewhere safer to put it.
  • dazza3512
    dazza3512 Posts: 58
    cheers for that andy,i appriciate that no where is one hundred percent safe,it,s just this site is just up from tower hamlets,and not wanting to sound paranoid,as i have very little experience of london,i just wondered how safe it was to camp there,any pubs to recommend etc
    He travels fastest who travels alone
  • andymiller
    andymiller Posts: 2,856
    I don't think you're being paranoid, and I live fairly close to the Lee Valley on the other side of the river (although I'm embarrassed to say that I didn't know there was a campsite there). That said, all you can do is take sensible precautions and then try not to worry.

Hopefully someone who has stayed there will be able to comment but as far as security is concerned it might well be worth ringing the campsite and asking if they have somewhere where you could store your bike overnight.
  • mididoctors
    mididoctors Posts: 18,790
    probably be ok but its effectively south tottenham... not devoid of crime

I live in hackney
    "If I was a 38 year old man, I definitely wouldn't be riding a bright yellow bike with Hello Kitty disc wheels, put it that way. What we're witnessing here is the world's most high profile mid-life crisis" Afx237vi Mon Jul 20, 2009 2:43 pm
  • bwfcmullet