Do Alu Frames Creak?

Bordersroadie
Bordersroadie Posts: 1,052
edited May 2012 in Workshop
I've been cycling on old 531 steel for 30 years plus, moved to a new alu bike in Jan and from day one it has made creaking/clicking noises most times I use it. I've put 500 miles a month on it. It's a 2011 Cube Streamer.

Some days worse than others. Most apparent with climbing out of the saddle but not solely. Click click click or creak click creak (you get the idea) in time with each crank revolution. Happens in all the triple chainrings and all rear sprockets. Sometimes intermittent, sometimes fairly constant, always quiet when not under real pedalling load.

So my (excellent) LBS has been through it all. So far he's removed/refitted/relubricated/retorqued cranks, bottom bracket, chainrings, pedals, full drivetrain, made sure all cable ends are tucked away, I've swapped pedals, changed shoes/saddle/seatpost, pedalled one footed with either foot. The new handbuilt wheels have been retightened and double checked. There's nothing we haven't tried as far as I know.

It's been a bugger in the recent warm weather (far more creaking, less clicking!) so I'm starting to think it's just an aluminium thing?

Enlightenment appreciated!

Comments

• dmr-kev
    dmr-kev Posts: 49
    I'd have a guess at the seatpost needing a bit of grease, really annoying when it happens but easy fixed.
    2012 CAAD10 RS80 C24

Felt rxc pro,Pace RC31,Hope Pro2, DT Swiss 4.2d,XTR,mono minis,Thomson,Ritchey WCS,fizik,Easton monkeylite sl,speedking supersonics,and my 2 Titanium/Ceramic hip replacements!

Custom Langster Fixie
  • Twostage
    Twostage Posts: 987
    My alu commuter has a fair collection of creaks, the worst coming from the handlebars when I stand up. I'm fairly sure it is the cables rubbing under the bar tape. I don't worry about them.
    My carbon fibre nice bike creaks a bit too, I worry about that for about 100 yards and then forget about it.