Aches and pains

comicbookguy
comicbookguy Posts: 16
edited June 2012 in MTB beginners
Guys,
I'm new to biking, a fat lad trying to lose weight, I'm really enjoying it loving getting out and about. Got a good bike and loads of routes near me.. only been on it for just over a month working up from a couple of times a week to these last couple of days I've managed to cover nearly 40km, which I'm happy with. Question I have is, I was expecting saddle soreness, which is not too bad, but I wasn't expecting my legs to feel like lead, my arms and shoulders are also really tight, what do you guys reccomend to combat feeling like this. A mate of mine has recommended a yoga for beginners. DVD but I wanted to see your ideas please...

Comments

• Stu Coops
    Stu Coops Posts: 426
    If your new to MTB it's basically your body adjusting to change, make sure you always stretch before every ride, press ups a few times a week and core work using a swiss ball "lots of techniques on YouTube" as your core takes a lot of punishment while mountain biking and a lot of people ignore this strengthning process.
    Keep it up and after a few weeks the aches your getting now will reduce radically but after a long ride you will always feel aches and pains as the body takes a pounding on techy rough terrain.
    Zesty 514 Scott Scale 20 GT Expert HalfwayupMTB
  • learnerDave
    learnerDave Posts: 24
    dont worry too much, i was training to run a matathon and would say im pretty fit, but then got into mtbin, for the first 2weeks was aching all over but didnt rest so had no time to recover. then had a week off from biking and exercise, now feel great and aches aint half as bad when i go out. dont burn yourself out mate, your body needs rest and youll come back stronger and enjoy it more
    falling off only helps
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Welcome to my world. I call it old age.
    Just ride it gets better
    I don't do smileys.