Newbee Hertfordshire

Spighty
Spighty Posts: 90
edited May 2012 in MTB beginners
Hi my name is Garry, Im new to biking.

My wife runs a charity events company and I have been working on some of their cycle events. This has given me the motivation to go out and get a bike.

Im not allowed a new one until I can prove I will use it. Im sure there are lots of people on here that are in the same boat.

I didnt have much of a budget atm (£100) so I opted for second hand
I managed to pick up a used 2008 Giant yukon. Probaly not the best bike but hey its my first bike and everyone needs to start somewhere.

I am a trained car mechanic and now run a car detailing company so will be atempting most repairs and upgrades myself.

I pick the bike up friday. My first job will be to clean and lube it up and check it works.

I have been browsing gor a bit and have picked a few tips up and hopefully will get some more.

anyway just wanted to say hi to everyone

Comments

• Hi my name is Garry, Im new to biking.

Hi and welcome to the forums!

You seem to be hitting the ground running with the right attitude, the bike you ride doesn't really matter that much at the start as long as you're getting out there and enjoying yourself, although you do seem to have picked yourself up a good platform to learn on and build up if you choose to go that way.
    I pick the bike up friday. My first job will be to clean and lube it up and check it works.

Good to see you're starting off on the right foot when you pick up your new steed, treat it well and it'll reward you with plenty of fun, right up until the point where you persuade your wife that you're serious enough to start shelling out for a new one. :mrgreen:

The best advice I can give is to find a local place for you to ride, learn skills and most importantly bring a smile to your face (it's a lot easier to do the first 2 more often if you've got a massive grin on your face).