A first attempt at 3rd person filming - north wales AM

ilovedirt
ilovedirt Posts: 5,798
edited June 2012 in Your pics and vids
So this is my first attempt at 3rd person self-filming, done on my go pro. Went for a bit of an XC/AM ride yesterday in the sun, thought I might as well share, enjoy!
Production Privee Shan

B'Twin Triban 5

Comments

• Redhog14
    Redhog14 Posts: 1,377
    I thought that was rather good actually, just the right length. It would be good to add a little helmet or handlebar footage of you riding it at the end just to bring it together. Nice. I got a GoPro for my birthday and have only used it a couple of times, will get it out this weekend
  • Briggo
    Briggo Posts: 3,537
    Yeah I like it, isn't it a pain in the backside though having to keep going back for the camera? I'll try it one day.
  • ilovedirt
    Redhog - cheers, yeah I thought of putting some helmet mount clips in there, but I forgot the mount. Maybe next time. I'll probably try a downhill one next time as well.

Briggo - yes it was! haha
    Production Privee Shan

B'Twin Triban 5
  • Nice! Some really cool shots. I'm seriously thinking about getting a go pro but was worried about 3rd person actually. How did you line up the shots? I see Contour has an app you can use on iPhone to line up the camera, is it same with go pro?
  • ilovedirt
    I kinda just pointed it where i wanted it to look really!...
    Production Privee Shan

B'Twin Triban 5
  • Redhog14
    The aperture (?) on the lens means that you get a wide angle shot all the time, it is not as narrow as a normal camera, but you may need to fart about with the depth of your shot i.e. how far away the camera is from the subject this is quite technical though and involves something called "walking", not for the typical cyclist :) I just ordered an upgraded SD card hope it arrives before my trip to the borders this weekend!
  • paul.skibum
    paul.skibum Posts: 4,068