Specialized secteur or allez?

Mikesroadbike
Mikesroadbike Posts: 8
edited June 2012 in Road buying advice
Hi there!
I am totally new to road cycling and about to buy either a secteur or an allez 2011 model online (due to good savings).
My main aim with cycling is to get fit and build up endurance. I've signed up for a sportive in September so need to get cracking. What bike would suit best? Does anyone know the weight of these bikes? Can't seem to find it anywhere online.
Size wise I am 5ft 11 with an inside leg of 33inches. What frame size should I be going for?
Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• Neither of them... until you have an idea of the correct size of bike that fits you. You can only do that by visiting a reputable shop and by test riding a number of bikes. A correct fitting bike is more important than the marketing and model.
  • jameses
    jameses Posts: 653
    +1 on trying before you buy, shouldn't be difficult to do as there are many specialized dealers out there.

As for the differences between the two, the Secteur is sold as a more relaxed, sportive bike, the Allez as more of a racing bike (although the geometry isn't that aggressive compared to some).
    The Secteur will put you in a more comfortable, upright position if you are new to road cycling, but you may eventually find yourself restricted when you want to develop a more aero position. It also weighs about 0.5kg more than the Allez, though neither are particularly lightweight. Don't let that put you off, they're both good bikes (even if you do pay a premium for the name!)

I'm 6' with a 33" inside leg and I have a 58cm (XL) Secteur, but could have just as easily fit a 56cm frame. I would suggest you try out a 56 first.
  • humpyg
    humpyg Posts: 50