pre ride fueling

flexyfish
flexyfish Posts: 26
edited May 2012 in Road beginners
Hi i'm fairly new to cycling and could do with some advice about eating before a big ride early in the monring. Like what to eat, how early before the ride etc.

cheers

Comments

• rpd_steve
    rpd_steve Posts: 361
    If your doing about 50 miles or less then provided you have a good normal diet, i.e. eat a squair meal each evening with some meat and veg, then a light breakfast, then that is good enough.

Personally I find a bowl of porridge and a glass of juice in the morning has me feeling full of energy fo up to 50 miles. At about 50 miles + I start to eat something extra, toast as well ect and then carry food on the go like banana, malt loaf and a couple of gells in case of bonkage...
  • flexyfish
    flexyfish Posts: 26
    So say you were going for a ride at 0800 how early would you eat before that
  • andyeb
    andyeb Posts: 407
    Ideally leave an hour after eating before setting off. I personally also like porridge, as it takes a while to digest and gives a slow and steady release of energy (low glycemic index).
  • mike101
    mike101 Posts: 42
    Everyones different. I'd have a bowl of Muesli at 7am and would then be fine until around 60 miles. You need to experiment to see what works for you.
  • Pigtail
    Pigtail Posts: 424
    You need to experiment to find what is best for you. There's also an element of training your body to work with what you give it. I have a bowl of porridge, some raisins and two cups of green tea every morning. If I'm going out for a ride I may also have a banana. By the time I tooter about and get ready its generally at least 20 minutes after I've eaten before I get out of the house.
  • snoopsmydogg
    snoopsmydogg Posts: 1,110
    another vote for porridge about an hour before
  • ShutUpLegs
    ShutUpLegs Posts: 3,522
    flexyfish wrote:
    So say you were going for a ride at 0800 how early would you eat before that