using a TREK 7300 hybrid for a 60 mile ride?

rick1900
rick1900 Posts: 2
edited May 2012 in Road beginners
As a beginner my son has used my old trek hybrid for a 24 mile charity ride and has plans to do a mini triathlon and also a 60 mile ride over the next few weeks.
he seems to ride at about 15 or 16 mph and the only thing I have done is put new tyres, semi slick, and pumped them up to 85psi. Yesterday he rode the 24 miles a bit quicker but I think that was due to the competetive spirit of the day. it has 24 gears and is about 8 years old but properly serviced and the mechanic says a good bike.
for these type of road events , or maybe say a 100 mile ride is this an ok bike? should I let him buy some narrower wheels with slick tyres. I think the tyres are Schwab 700 x 35 at present. or shall we go for a road bike. it would have to be 2nd hand.

Any help would be great.

Thanks

Comments

• MarksMintness
    MarksMintness Posts: 484
    Hi mate, I rode Leicester to Skegness (100 miles) on a Trek 7.5fx hybrid a very similar bike - no problems at all it was very comfortable. I rode it with the standard Bontrager SSR wheels with Bontrage 32mm road tyres.
    Got on the bike the next day and rode from Skegness to Peterborough, again no comfort/ride issues at all.
    I would say for a 60 mile ride he'll be fine, but if he wants to get competitive then of course a road bike with a more performance oriented geometry and ride would be better.
    Good luck!
    Current bike: 2014 Kinesis Racelight T2 - built by my good self!
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    I have a hybrid and use it for pub runs/family trails, etc. I also used it earlier in the year when recovering from an injury and found it fine for club runs in a slower group than normal.

I would be tempted to check the wheels on your Trek and see what size they are (see "Sheldon Tyre Sizing" on tinternet) as you may be able to get some folding 25mm slicks on there which will be a lot lighter and faster.