Just a quickie brake question

Stevo210
Stevo210 Posts: 196
edited October 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
Running Hope V2 brakes. Front runs a treat, back when left for a couple of days the lever goes back to the bars on the first pull. One of the pistons seems to have retreated back inside the caliper thus only contacting disc really with one pad. Easily fixed by pushing pads and realigning to centre of disc.

The Calipers are perfectly central so thats not the issue.

They are only a couple of months old, Ive bled the front to shorten the hose when fitting. Bleed the rear??

Cheers for any thoughts and help.

Comments

• steelie600
    steelie600 Posts: 519
    Ive not a lot of experience with MTB brakes, HOWEVER I am a motorbike/car mechanic and can answer this for ya

On the MTB brakes you have a spring to return the pads away from the disc to make them free'er running. Motorbike and car brakes drag ever so slightly, but they have an engine to overcome this drag, whereas on an mtb we dont hence the spring.

What I suspect is happening is the pistons are so slick (yes I mean slick and not slack) in the seals that over time the spring will push the piston back into the caliper ever so slightly causing the long lever travel you speak of.

I have no idea if this is a common occurence, but if your brakes have a nice action and nice lever feel after youve pumped them back to normal I would assume that you dont have anything to worry about.
    Idiot ^^^^^^^^^

Ralph
  • Stevo210
    Stevo210 Posts: 196
    Thanks for your thoughts. I see what you're saying, but by simply pumping the lever it doesnt cure the problem. It just pumps up the pistons so that they are still pushing unevenly and pushing the disc over. Im sure I shouldnt have to centralise the pads/pistons before I ride.
  • 386ka
    386ka Posts: 479
    Stevo210 wrote: