Giant reign1/2 or Whyte 146s

Mupp1tt
Mupp1tt Posts: 5
edited June 2012 in MTB buying advice
Ok so I'm in a lucky position where I can get my friends discount on a new bike. I have two options and as I'm pretty new to trails and DH I don't know what to go for. Giant Reign 1 or 2 or Whyte 146s / t120, I know there are quite big differences , but I'm stuck! I like the 4 link system on the giant and having all explained to me seems like a good reason, (I'm and engineer) however the Whyte is very very nice. Can anyone try to explain what or more so why I should go for one over the other.

More likely to be doing trail riding but I do go for things full on and would like a bike that will last me a good few years. Hence an ability to do some sizeable drops is needed which does. It help me as I'm aware that all these bikes are capable.

Comments

• FatMikeUK
    FatMikeUK Posts: 51
    Personaly I'd go with Whyte, 'cos I think they look fantastic, however the Giant is probably a much more sensible decision.
  • Biffz0id
    Biffz0id Posts: 123
    I would say the amount of snapped and cracked Whytes I see is pretty outrageous.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Biffz0id wrote:
    I would say the amount of snapped and cracked Whytes I see is pretty outrageous.
    Absolutely,the trails are littered with bits of Whyte frames.

Or to put it another way, bollocks.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • 386ka
    386ka Posts: 479
    FatMikeUK wrote:
    Personaly I'd go with Whyte, 'cos I think they look fantastic, however the Giant is probably a much more sensible decision.
    I think the Giant is proven, and will serve you better than the Whyte.
    A much loved, Giant Trance X3 2010
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774