A this a good time for a century?

CyclingObsession
CyclingObsession Posts: 314
edited May 2012 in Road beginners
Hi guys I'm new to road biking been doing it a year now, I used to be obese and now I am at my ideal
Weight for cycling, I have gotten really serious the last 3 months, I completed my first century of 101.5 miles, it was a solo century and I did it in 5hrs:32mins is this a good time? I had a tail wind and were a good few hills but nothing too serious

Comments

• amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    Good compared to what or who?
    More problems but still living....
  • CiB
    CiB Posts: 6,098
    Anything under 6 hours is good in my book. That's a good time, unless it was all d/hill with a tailwind.
  • p9uma
    p9uma Posts: 565
    I'm not sure whether it's a good time or not, but it doesn't really matter does it. What is important is that you did it, you didn't die doing it, you probably enjoyed the ride and you probably feel great for doing it. Well done, its a hell of an achievement by most peoples standards.
    Trek Madone 3.5
    Whyte Coniston
    1970 Dawes Kingpin
  • Frank the tank
    Frank the tank Posts: 6,553
    p9uma wrote:
    I'm not sure whether it's a good time or not, but it doesn't really matter does it. What is important is that you did it, you didn't die doing it, you probably enjoyed the ride and you probably feel great for doing it. Well done, its a hell of an achievement by most peoples standards.

Like wot he said!

You now have a benchmark, go out and try and improve on it if that is your desire.
    Tail end Charlie

The above post may contain traces of sarcasm or/and bullsh*t.
  • pipipi
    pipipi Posts: 332
    If you were obese and you have now managed 100 miles then well done anyway. The time you mentioned is very good as far I am concerned and so was your average speed at about 18 mph.

I'm doing 100 on Sunday and I'll be very pleased (amazed) to get your time. I reckon I will more like 7 hours for me.